Octagon’s Baddest Man

Brock Lesnar defeated Shane Carwin in round 2 via Arm Triangle Choke on UFC 116 and defended the belt and title as World Heavyweight Champ.

It was an incredible fight! Two heavyweights going at it for the title. Man! nothing could be sweeter than that.

First round of the fight and I knew that Carwin would be taking the fight standing up, and I knew that he wants it done right there and then, while Lesnar was thinking of taking Carwin down. But Carwin clipped Lesnar’s chin twice and it did most of the job for Carwin.

While Lesnar is down Carwin was dropping bombs, but unfortunately for him Lesnar was defending himself and Carwin was slowing down with those bombs. Carwin was getting tired with punching the downed giant, and while his down and defending he was recovering making it through and was saved by the bell.

The second round came and this is the round that I feared for Carwin,  most of Carwin’s fight ended in the first round so stamina is the big key in the second round. And I saw Carwin’s breathing, he seemed tired for all those punches in the first round. Lesnar took down Carwin and went for the Arm Triangle Choke and Carwin tapped out.

I knew that Lesnar was going to take down Carwin, but I never thought that he would win via submission. I always thought that when he takes down Carwin he would end the fight with a ground and pound. So I was a bit surprised. He said in one interview that he didn’t know that it was an Arm Triangle and that he didn’t really knew what to next. And this shows how Lesnar is evolving.

The whole time I rooting for Carwin, but I really felt that Lesnar would win.

I was right, in the end it came down to stamina. By the time second round started Carwin looked tired and was breathing heavily. It was this time that Lesnar would take advantage of Carwin’s weakness, and he did.

Now that’s all said and done, Lesnar is now going to face Cain Velasquez. Another worthy opponent I would say.

Mag-iwan ng puna